Stuff

Random stuff found while procrastinating :P

What is wrong with pensioners in Australia?

leave a comment »

Well it could be wrong of me to blame pensioners, but according to Family First Senator Steve Fielding, some pensioners are “living on dogfood.”  Now I’m not really going to comment too much on whether the aged pension should be higher or not.  I’m not an economist and I haven’t evaluated the federal budget to a great degree, but I’m happy to accept people’s word that it is very low (although I note that it’s not as low as what full time students get…).  However I think it’s important to note that dog food is not the cheapest “food” you can buy.  There are 2 minute noodles, as well as all kinds of canned food marketed at humans, that are probably a better choice of food than dog food.

 

So if there is any truth to Steve Fieldings claim, and he’s not just a liar, I’m not sure who should be blamed for pensioners choosing to eat dog food over human food.  Doesn’t sound like giving them more money will solve this problem though.

Written by beast9

September 8, 2008 at 7:08 am

Leave a Reply

