Stuff

Random stuff found while procrastinating :P

I love Nassim Nicholas Taleb! <3

leave a comment »

Very interesting/challenging article from NNT over at edge; The Fourth Quadrent.  He’s one of those people who I read everything they put out religiously.  Actually I haven’t read The Black Swan yet, but it’s pretty high up on my reading list (probably the 2nd book I’ll read after I finish my current one).  He actually makes me interested in economics and the financial world :p  

I guess I like him because he sees through bullshit and talks about reality so well.  I remember reading somewhere him talking about a game where you’ve just seen a coin get tossed and come down heads 50 times in a row, and the odds of it being tails the next time.  The typical science/statistics response is that it’s a 50% chance of being either heads or tails, but Taleb pointed out that it’s much more likely the game is rigged and you’re not seeing random results at all.  I think it’s really important to consider reality when working out problems, not just the theoretical solutions.

Written by beast9

September 16, 2008 at 3:27 pm

Leave a Reply

